english Version deutsche Version
Logo Klangkultur Stephan Popp
Julius Berger

Julius Berger

Violoncello

Julius Berger

Julius Berger was born in Augsburg and studied with Walter Reichardt and Fritz Kiskalt at the musical college in Munich and at the Mozarteum in Salzburg with Antonio Janigro, whose assistant he was from 1979 till 1982. He then completed his studies with Zara Nesova at the University of Cincinnati (USA) and undertook a masterclass given by Mstislav Rostropovic.

At the age of only 28 Julius Berger was appointed to a professorship at the musical college in Würzburg, subsequently moving to Saarbrücken, Mainz and Augsburg, where he taught leading young talents. Since 1992 he has also been teaching at the renowned International Summer Academy at Salzburg’s Mozarteum. He is artistic director of the Eckelhausen Music Days and of the Asiago Festival in Italy

Julius Berger has dedicated a major part of his concert and recording activities to the rediscovery of the complete violoncello works of Luigi Boccherini and Leonardo Leo, and of the oldest music ever written for the cello, the ricercari of Antonii and Gabrielli.

His concerts and CD-editions of the works for violoncello and piano by Paul Hindemith, and of the works of Ernst Bloch, Max Bruch , Richard Strauss, Robert Schumann and Edward Elgar are highly regarded internationally, as is his great commitment to contemporary compositions This has led to highly praised recordings of the works of John Cage, Toshio Hosokawa, Mikis Theodorakis and Sofia Gubaidulina, amongst others. His tours and concert brought him together in music and friendship with people such as Leonard Bernstein, Eugen Jochum, Daniel Harding, Gidon Kremer, Pierre Laurent Aimard, Olivier Messiaen, Sofia Gubaidulina and Wolfgang Rihm.

He is the president of the Markneukirchen International Music Competition, and has been a juror at competitions at Salzburg, Kronberg, Munich and Warsaw.

Since 1989 Julius Berger has been a member of the music faculty of the Gaurdini foundation Berlin, and since 1997 has been an elected member of the central committee of the Roman Catholic Church in Germany. As an author, Julius Berger has published widely, and he has been elected a member of the Academy of Science and Literature in Mainz.

www.juliusberger.de

 

Are you interested in a concert project with Julius Berger?
Please contact klangkultur - Stephan Popp.

english Version deutsche Version
Logo Klangkultur Stephan Popp
Julius Berger

Julius Berger

Violoncello

Julius Berger

In Augsburg geboren, studierte Julius Berger an der Musikhochschule München bei Walter Reichardt und Fritz Kiskalt, am Mozarteum Salzburg bei Antonio Janigro und war dessen Assistent von 1979-1982. An der University of Cincinnati/USA komplettierte er seine Studien bei Zara Nelsova und belegte einen Meisterkurs bei Mstislav Rostropovic.

Als einer der jüngsten Professoren Deutschlands wurde Julius Berger mit 28 Jahren an die Musikhochschule Würzburg berufen. Er wechselte in gleicher Position nach Saarbrücken, Mainz und Augsburg, wo er den Spitzennachwuchs förderte. Seit 1992 leitet er zusätzlich eine Klasse an der renommierten Internationalen Sommerakademie der Universität Mozarteum Salzburg. Darüber hinaus ist Julius Berger künstlerischer Leiter der Eckelshausener Musiktage und des Asiago-Festivals (Italien).

Julius Berger widmet einen großen Teil seiner internationalen Konzert- und Aufnahmetätigkeiten der Wiederentdeckung des Gesamtwerkes von Luigi Boccherini und Leonardo Leo sowie der ältesten Musik, die für Violoncello geschrieben wurde, der Ricercari von Antonii und Gabrielli.

Seine Aufführungen und CD-Editionen der Werke für Violoncello und Klavier von Paul Hindemith, der Werke von Ernst Bloch, Max Bruch, Richard Strauss, Robert Schumann und Edward Elgar finden weltweit Beachtung, ebenso sein großes Engagement für zeitgenössische Kompositionen. Hier entstanden international ausgezeichnete CD-Einspielungen der Werke von u.a. John Cage, Toshio Hosokawa, Mikis Theodorakis und Sofia Gubaidulina. Tourneen und Konzerte haben ihn musikalisch und freundschaftlich verbunden mit Persönlichkeiten wie Leonard Bernstein, Eugen Jochum, Daniel Harding, Gidon Kremer, Pierre Laurent Aimard, Olivier Messiaen, Sofia Gubaidulina und Wolfgang Rihm.

Als Präsident leitet er den Internationalen Instrumentalwettbewerb Markneukirchen. Internationale Tätigkeiten als Juror führten Julius Berger unter anderen zu Wettbewerben in Salzburg, Kronberg, München und Warschau.

Seit 1989 ist Julius Berger Mitglied des Fachbereiches Musik der Guardini-Stiftung Berlin und seit 1997 frei gewähltes Mitglied des Zentralkomitees der deutschen Katholiken. Als Autor schrieb Julius Berger zahlreiche Werke und wurde zum Mitglied der Akademie der Wissenschaften und Literatur Mainz gewählt.

www.juliusberger.de

 

Sind Sie an einer Zusammenarbeit mit Julius Berger interessiert?
Dann kontaktieren Sie klangkultur - Stephan Popp direkt.