english Version deutsche Version
Logo Klangkultur Stephan Popp
clair-obscur

clair-obscur

saxophone quartet

clair-obscur

The ensemble clair-obscur has ranked among the world’s leading classical saxophone quartets for many years. In their performances they seek to emulate the ultimate in chamber music , the string quartet. Not least among the reasons for this is that all four members studied with Friedemann Weigle, the internationally renowned viola-player of the Artemis Quartet, who teaches at the music college in Berlin. It is rare indeed to hear the saxophone being played in so colourful, refined, delicate and melodious a way as at the performances of this ensemble.

As the musicians play a many-sided instrument, they are open to unusual styles and forms of concert, at which they strive for the same perfection as in classical music. However, their focus is very much on the music, not the technical capabilities of the saxophone, which is one of the reasons for the group’s success.

Their reputation is founded on numerous prizes at international competitions as well as on regular performances on stages large and small all over the world, including the Carnegie Hall in New York, the Munich “Residenztheater” and the Berlin Philharmonic concert hall.

For the visual aspect of their performances the musicians have taken drama classes. They develop these concerts, for both adults and children, in collaboration with a theatre producer, and have thereby gained experience which also guarantees an unusual presence for their classical performances.

The four musicians of clair-obscur - Jan Schulte-Bunert, soprano saxophone; Maike Krullmann, alto sax; Christoph Enzel, tenor sax und Kathi Wagner, baritone sax – teach at the music colleges in Darmstadt, Rostock and Berlin. They also teach at international masterclasses, and perform regularly with top orchestras, such as the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra.

www.clair-obscur.de

clair-obscur play Glass Mishima
at Arte Lounge

 

The Wedding on the Eiffel Tower

 

Are you interested in a concert project with clair-obscur?
Please contact klangkultur - Stephan Popp.

english Version deutsche Version
Logo Klangkultur Stephan Popp
clair-obscur

clair-obscur

Saxophonquartett

clair-obscur

Das Ensemble clair-obscur zählt seit vielen Jahren weltweit zu den führenden klassischen Saxonphonquartetten. Bei seinem Spiel orientiert es sich an der Königsdisziplin der Kammermusik, dem Streichquartett. Das ist nicht zuletzt darin begründet, dass alle Mitglieder an der Hochschule für Musik in Berlin bei Friedemann Weigle, dem Bratschisten des weltbekannten Artemis Quartetts, den Studiengang Kammermusik absolviert haben. Selten kann Saxophon so farbenreich, differenziert, filigran und klangvoll erlebt werden wie bei den Auftritten von clair-obscur.

Da die Musiker ein sehr vielseitiges Instrument spielen, sind sie auch offen für außergewöhnliche Stilrichtungen und Konzertformen, denen sie sich mit dem gleichen Anspruch auf Perfektion widmen wie der klassischen Musik. Zum Vortrag kommt jedoch nur, was musikalisch begründet ist, und nicht, was spieltechnisch auf dem Saxophon möglich wäre. Nicht zuletzt dieser Maxime verdanken die vier Musiker ihren Erfolg.

Zahlreiche Preise bei internationalen Wettbewerben unterstreichen ihr Renommee, ebenfalls häufige Engagements an Bühnen in aller Welt, wie etwa der New Yorker Carnegie Hall, dem Münchner Residenztheater oder der Berliner Philharmonie.

Für szenisch angelegte Auftritte nahmen die Musiker eigens Schauspiel- und Sprech-Unterricht. Sie erarbeiteten diese Konzerte, ob für Erwachsene oder Kinder, jeweils mit einem Regisseur. Dabei gewannen sie Erfahrungen, die auch bei klassischen Konzerten zu einer außergewöhnlichen Präsenz der Ensemblemitglieder führen.

Die vier Musiker von clair-obscur – Jan Schulte-Bunert, Sopransaxophon; Maike Krullmann, Altsaxophon; Christoph Enzel, Tenorsaxophon und Kathi Wagner, Baritonsaxophon – unterrichten an Hochschulen in Darmstadt, Rostock und Berlin. Auf internationalen Meisterkursen vermitteln sie ihr Wissen und Können. Als Saxophonisten sind sie regelmäßig bei Spitzenorchstern wie den Berliner Philharmonikern zu Gast.

www.clair-obscur.de

clair-obscur play Glass Mishima
at Arte Lounge

 

The Wedding on the Eiffel Tower

 

Sind Sie an einer Zusammenarbeit mit clair-obscur interessiert?
Dann kontaktieren Sie klangkultur - Stephan Popp direkt.